Appreciation

I have been thinking about appreciation lately.  Have you ever known kids, especially teens, who have everything you could ask for…like Ipods, Iphones, laptops, desktops, designer clothes, expensive vacations, cars, beautiful homes, etc.?  Some of them have all of this STUFF and they act like it’s nothing.  They seem to think they are entitled to all of it.  They don’t take particular care of the items…why should they?  Another one will appear in its place if it’s broken or lost..they think it’s like magic!  They don’t have rules to follow.  They don’t have to work, clean or do chores.  They treat their parents either with disdain or indifference.  Life OWES them.

Then you have the kids who have very little…and they are SO appreciative of everything they get or have.  They take extra care with their items, they are so grateful for them.  They don’t get all the expensive gadgets or the VERY best of everything, but they are happy with what they do have.  They sometimes must work to get these items they long for…which makes them understand the value of a dollar and how much work goes into being able to afford them.  They don’t get to take fancy vacations, or drive fancy cars, or unfortunately get fancy educations…they are just the kids who will struggle through life.

Sometimes it seems that there is such a huge difference in the “HAVES” and the “HAVE NOTS”…Of course their are rich kids who do appreciate what they have and have parents who have them learn the value of money and working hard for what you earn…and their are poor kids whose parents don’t teach them anything about finances either…and sometimes, it’s not just “kids” who behave this way, there are plenty of adults who have this same entitlement attitude in the world.

When my grandmother was a little girl, she would go to school with only a small piece of cornbread wrapped in a napkin for her lunch.  She would sit on the bench outside slowly eating it to make it last, while watching some of the more “Well to do” kids eating their fancy packed lunches with meat, vegetables, fruit and sometimes CANDY!  She would look longingly at what they had…but she said she always thanked God for her piece of cornbread, because she knew there were other kids who had NOTHING to eat for lunch.

So that’s what I try to do.  I try to remember to thank GOD everyday for what I DO have.  I am not rich.  I do not have a beautiful home.  I do not drive a fancy car.  I don’t wear the best clothes, I haven’t had a great vacation in years, we can’t pay all our bills…BUT, I do have food, I do have a roof over my head, I do have a car, I do have clothes, and most importantly, I have my children and family…I am so very thankful for all of it.  I appreciate every item I own.

I think I would rather have less and appreciate it more… than to have it all and behave as if it’s nothing.

Look around and appreciate all you have!  There are people out there who have so much less.

Thank you for taking a few minutes to read my ramblings!

“Unhappiness ultimately arises not from the circumstances of your life, but from the conditioning of your mind.”  Tolle

5 thoughts on “Appreciation

  1. I think that growing up poor, as I did, made me a better person. It made me want to earn the better things in life. I had friends in school that had everything they wanted, but when they grew up, they found out that the world wasn’t going to give most of them a free ride. I think having a free ride would have been boring anyway…

    • Thank u Julie! I appreciate you reading my blog! Like I’ve told you before, I think you are a wonderful writer…so your opinion means alot to me! Thanks again! hugs!

Leave a Reply

