Dedicated to Dexter:

This entry will be dedicated to my beloved dog Dexter.  He passed away on May 28th, 2008.  He was almost 16 years old, and I had him for 15 wonderful years.  He was a terrier mix, and he was the most loyal of all pets.  He was my little shadow for all those years.  He followed me everywhere, and waited patiently outside the bathroom door for me even! 

I allowed him to sleep in bed with us, he always slept in the crook of my leg…he would sit and wait until I got comfortable, then plop down with his body pressed against my leg, chin resting on my ankle.  He was so smart, I am fairly certain he totally understood the human language.  I would say, “Well Dex, I think we need to get up and head to the kitchen.”  And he would get up and start walking that way and look over his shoulder to make sure I was following…he would do that also whenever we were going downstairs…he would go ahead of me, but would always stop halfway down and look back to see if I was still there! 

When I was sick, he would sit and look at me with what I swear was pity in his eyes.  At certain points I wasn’t able to lay in a bed, but was confined to a recliner…he would some lay or sit beside it, I was usually to weak to try to pet him, but occassionally could hang an arm down and touch the top of his head, and he would just stay there frozen until I moved my hand away.

When we would go on vacations he would refuse to eat…it made me feel awful!  But we soon figured out that his self enforced fast could be broken with home cooked liver!  lol, my grandmother would cook him liver and handfeed it to him…so he wouldn’t starve to death til we returned…he was a little con artist I think! 

Dexter never had “accidents” in the house.  Never.  Until right toward the end, he became incontinent.  You could see in his face it made him feel so bad to do it.  Of course we never shamed him or scolded him at all, he couldn’t help it, but honestly you could see it hurt his pride.

He was the perfect dog.  He was soo smart.  Loyal.  Loving.  Affectionate.  He had the best personality of any dog I have ever seen!  He smiled!  Yes, he would smile at everyone…you could say, “Smile Dex!” and he would pull back his lips and give you a grin!  When he was especially excited…like in response to the phrase “Want some cheese Dex?” He would begin to sneeze over and over and over again…lol, it was the cutest!

After he went to Rainbow Bridge, I had him cremated and we have his little urn of ashes with us, and a little paw shaped stone with his name on it.  I also have a windchime with his name and dates of birth/death.  I keep pictures of my little baby around the house.  Although he is gone, he is here in spirit.  I will never forget my baby Dex, and although I dearly love my current dogs, Lucy and Daisy…they will never replace the very special bond my Dex and I had.

RIP Dexter Spice!

“Happiness is the experience of living every minute with love, grace and gratitude” …taken from my latest Dove chocolate!  😉

My Dex

Just a Dog

From time to time, people tell me, “lighten up, it’s just a dog,” or, “that’s a lot of money for just a dog.” They don’t understand the distance traveled, the time spent, or the costs involved for “just a dog.”

Some of my proudest moments have come about with “just a dog.” Many hours have passed and my only company was “just a dog,” but I did not once feel slighted.

Some of my saddest moments have been brought about by “just a dog,” and in those days of darkness, the gentle touch of “just a dog” gave me comfort and reason to overcome the day.

If you, too, think it’s “just a dog,” then you will probably understand phases like “just a friend,” “just a sunrise,” or “just a promise.” “Just a dog” brings into my life the very essence of friendship, trust, and pure unbridled joy. “Just a dog” brings out the compassion and patience that make me a better person.

Because of “just a dog” I will rise early, take long walks and look longingly to the future. So for me and folks like me, it’s not “just a dog” but an embodiment of all the hopes and dreams of the future, the fond memories of the past, and the pure joy of the moment.

“Just a dog” brings out what’s good in me and diverts my thoughts away from myself and the worries of the day.

I hope that someday they can understand that it’s not “just a dog” but the thing that gives me humanity and keeps me from being “just a human.”

So the next time you hear the phrase “just a dog.” just smile, because they “just don’t understand.”

Authored by Richard A. Biby

One thought on “Dedicated to Dexter:

  1. What a cute doggy! It sucks that animals can only be with us for a short period of time. Dexter sounds like he had more humanity in him in his 16 years of life, than most people have in 120 years of life.

Leave a Reply

